And Now For Something Completely Different; the 2015 Nebulas

The Science Fiction/Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) awarded the Nebulas Saturday night, in Chicago.  Here are the writing winners:

Best Novel:

Annihilation, Book One of Jeff VanderMeer’s creepy, deliciously paranoiac Southern Reach trilogy. Here is a review.

Best Novella:

“Yesterday’s Kin” by Nancy Kress. You can read a review by Terry Weyna, of Fantasy Literature, here.

Best Novelette:

“A Guide to the Fruits of Hawai’i by Alaya Dawn Johnson (review here)

Best Short Story:

“Jackalope Wives by Ursula Vernon (review here)

Alaya Dawn Johnson also won the Andre Norton Award for Love is the Drug, and Guardians of the Galaxy the Ray Bradbury Award for Best Dramatic Presentation.

About Annihilation… I am glad it won. I didn’t warm up to a single character in that entire trilogy, but I am glad it won simply for the superb quality of the execution.

This entry was posted in Thoughts about Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *